About the World Car Awards

Now entering their 16th year, the annual World Car Awards are the number one awards program in the world for the seventh (7th) consecutive year based on Prime Research's 2019 media report.

The awards were inaugurated in 2003, and officially launched in January 2004, to reflect the reality of the global marketplace, as well as to recognize, reward and inspire excellence, leadership and innovation in a rapidly changing automotive industry.

The awards are intended to complement, not compete, with existing national and regional Car of the Year programs.

The awards are administered by a not-for-profit association, under the guidance of an awards management group and an advisory committee as follows:

Management Group (Beth Rhind, Co-founder and executive manager – Canada; Peter Lyon, Co-chair, World Car Awards Program - Japan; Mike Rutherford, Co-chair, World Car Awards Program – UK and Gerry Malloy, CEO and president – WCA association – Canada)

Advisory Committee (Jens Meiners, Senior Advisor – Germany; Siddharth Vinayak Patankar, Senior Advisor – India; Tim Stevens, Senior Advisor –USA; Toni Jalovaara, Advisor – Finland and Carlos Sandoval, Advisor – Mexico).