2021 World Car of the Year

Note: The 2021 list of eligible vehicles is provisional based on information available at this time.
The list may be updated until December 1, 2020 when it becomes final and no further changes can be made.

World Car of the Year: Vehicles eligible for World Car of the Year must be produced in volumes of at least 10,000 units/year, must be priced below the luxury-car level in their primary markets, and must be “on-sale” in at least two major markets (China, Europe, India, Japan, Korea, Latin America, USA) on at least two separate continents within the specified time period.

Multi-category Entries: Only eligible vehicles in the World Urban Car and World Car Design of the Year categories are eligible to also compete in the World Car of the Year category.


Audi A3

BMW 2-Series Gran Coupe

BMW 4-Series

Buick Encore GX

Chevrolet Onix

Citroen C4 / e-C4

Honda Jazz / Fit


Hyundai Elantra / Avante

Hyundai i10 / Grand i10

Hyundai i20

Kia K5 / Optima

Kia Sonet

Kia Sorento

Mazda MX-30

Mercedes-Benz GLA

Nissan Rogue / X-Trail

Seat Leon

Skoda Octavia

Toyota Highlander

Toyota Sienna

Toyota Venza / Harrier

Toyota Yaris

Volkswagen ID.4