Celebrating the best of today. Embracing the best of tomorrow.

2022 World Car of the Year

World Car of the Year: Vehicles eligible for World Car of the Year must be produced in volumes of at least 10,000 units/year, must be priced below the luxury-car level in their primary markets, and must be “on-sale” in at least two major markets (China, Europe, India, Japan, Korea, Latin America, USA) on at least two separate continents within the period January 1, 2021 and March 30, 2022.

Multi-category Entries: Vehicles in the World Performance Car, World Urban Car, World Electric Vehicle and World Car Design of the Year categories may also be contenders in the overall “World Car of the Year” class or "World Luxury Car" class, depending on type and pricing.

All vehicles eligible for other World Car award categories are automatically eligible for World Car Design of the Year.


Acura MDX

Audi Q4 e-tron

Chevrolet Bolt EV/EUV

Chevrolet Corvette C8

Citroen C5 X

Cupra Formentor

Dacia Sandero

Ford Mach-E

Genesis G70

Honda Civic

Hyundai Ioniq 5

Hyundai Staria

Hyundai Tucson

Kia EV6

Kia Sportage

Lexus NX

Mitsubishi Outlander

Nissan Pathfinder

Opel Mokka

Peugeot 308

Renault Kiger

Subaru BRZ

Subaru Outback

Toyota Corolla Cross

Toyota GR86

Toyota Yaris Cross

Volkswagen Taigun

Volkswagen Taos